2017 James J. Morgan ES&T Early Career Award Lectureship Awarded

Environmental Science & Technology, Environmental Science & Technology Letters and the ACS Division of Environmental Chemistry are pleased to announce the winner of the 2017 James J. Morgan ES&T Early Career Award Lectureship is Professor Meagan S. Mauter from Carnegie Mellon University.

This award recognizes the contributions of early career researchers who have led our field in new directions through creative, new ideas consistent with Morgan’s early contributions. Mauter’s work focuses on seeking novel approaches to meet water supply requirement in a sustainable fashion in an energy constrained world. She seeks to re-think the policies surrounding water treatment, re-define the inputs to the treatment process, and re-envision the membranes in membrane-based water treatment processes.

photo_winnerThe award ceremony, along with Dr. Mauter’s lecture, will be presented at the Spring 2017 ACS National Meeting in San Francisco as part of the ES&T Symposium. This award is named in honor of Dr. James J. Morgan, the first Editor-in-Chief of Environmental Science & Technology. He took the helm of the journal in 1966 at the age of 34 and then guided the journal through the first 8 years of its existence.

This is only the second time the James J. Morgan ES&T Early Career Award Lectureship has been awarded. Earlier this year, Professor Jason D. Surratt from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill was presented with the inaugural award.


Get stories like this one in your inbox every month. Sign up for a custom newsletter from ACS Axial.

If you have comments or questions for the author of this post, please e-mail: Axial@acs.org.