I&EC Research Presents Excellence in Review Awards for 2016 - ACS Axial | ACS Publications

I&EC Research Presents Excellence in Review Awards for 2016

Industrial & Engineering Chemistry Research

This editorial originally appeared in Industrial & Engineering Chemistry Research.

In conjunction with Peer Review Week 2016 (yes, there is such a thing), which is September 19−25, Industrial & Engineering Chemistry Research is delighted to announce its first set of Excellence in Review Awards. The peer review system has long been part of the formal mechanism whereby new research results are vetted by the community. Other experts in the field are invited to comment on a colleague’s work and make suggestions that could improve the work itself or its presentation. I&EC Research owes a tremendous debt of gratitude to the more than 4,600 people who have completed reviews for the journal during the last 12 months. These reviewers toil in the background and perform this crucial professional service simply because it is vital for the advancement of chemical research.

To recognize those reviewers who have made especially notable contributions to I&EC Research during the past 12 months, we here announce our first annual Excellence in Review Awards. These awards go to reviewers who have provided several reviews, often within days, that are exceptionally substantive. These reviews have allowed our editors to make wise publication decisions and they have allowed authors to improve manuscripts and thereby raise the quality of I&EC Research. Based on an assessment of reviewer metrics (e.g., number of reviews, timeliness, quality of reviews) and recommendations from our editors, we selected 24 recipients for these inaugural 2016 Excellence in Review Awards. Our entire team of editors is delighted to honor and thank these 2016 Excellence in Review Award recipients for their
contributions to the success of I&EC Research.

• Michael Baldea, University of Texas at Austin, USA
• Pedro Castro, Universidade de Lisboa, Portugal
• I-Lung Chien, National Taiwan University, Taiwan
• Panagiotis Christofides, University of California, Los
Angeles, USA
• Tai-Shung Chung, National University of Singapore,
• Shamsuzzaman Farooq, National University of Singapore,
• Jiachun Feng, Fudan University, China
• Andrzej Gorak, Universitat Dortmund, Germany
• Ignacio Grossmann, Carnegie Mellon University, USA
• Yuan Hu, University of Science and Technology of China
• Uwe Kruger, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, USA
• M. Douglas LeVan, Vanderbilt University, USA
• Yongjin Li, Hangzhou Normal University, China
• Mariano Martín
, Universidad de Salamanca, Spain
• L. Srinivasa Mohan, ANSYS, Inc., India
• Ashwin Patwardhan, Institute of Chemical Technology,
• José Ponce-Ortega, Universidad Michoacana de San
Nicolás de Hidalgo, Mexico
• Gary Rochelle, University of Texas at Austin, USA
• Alirio Rodrigues, Laboratory of Separation and Reaction
Engineering, University Porto, Portugal
• Masoud Soroush, Drexel University, USA
• Bart Van der Bruggen, University of Leuven, Belgium
• Jun-Ting Xu, Zhejiang University, China
• Ralph Yang, University of Michigan, USA
• Fengqi You, Cornell University, USA

Phillip E. Savage is the Editor-in-Chief of Industrial & Engineering Chemistry Research.

Want more stories like this delivered to your inbox?

Sign up for our newsletter to receive a selection of stories related to your favorite topics.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.