Congratulations to the 2017 ACS Catalysis Lectureship Recipient: Professor Paul Chirik

ACS Catalysis and the ACS Division of Catalysis Science & Technology will honor Professor Paul Chirik (Princeton University) on August 21 as the recipient of the 2017 ACS Catalysis Lectureship for the Advancement of Catalytic Science.

Paul Chirik, Edwards S. Sanford Professor of Chemistry, is being recognized for his contributions to catalysis with first row transition metal complexes, especially with approaches utilizing “redox-active” ligands to allow the first row metals to catalyze multi-electron chemical transformations.

ACS Catalysis Editor-in-Chief Christopher W. Jones recently interviewed Professor Chirik, who shared his thoughts on fundamental research problems and other experiences in catalytic science. Watch the 2017 ACS Catalysis Lectureship award video.

The ACS Catalysis Lectureship for the Advancement of Catalytic Science honors current groundbreaking research that enables better understanding of catalysis and also advances the field of catalysis as a whole. The lectureship is co-sponsored by the ACS Division of Catalysis Science and Technology and ACS Catalysis. The lectureship may be awarded to an individual or a collaborative research team of up to 3 co-principal investigators.

The 2017 ACS Catalysis Lectureship for the Advancement of Catalytic Science will be presented to Chirik at the Fall 2017 ACS National Meeting in Washington, D.C. on Monday, August 21, 2017. Attend the symposium organized by Daniel Mindiola in Chirik’s honor from 8:00 AM – 11:55 AM EDT in Room 140B, Walter E. Washington Convention Center. In addition, attend the symposium organized by Bas de Bruin honoring the 2016 ACS Catalysis lectureship recipient, Professor Matthias Beller (Monday, August 21, from 1:30 PM – 5:25 PM EDT in Room 140B, Walter E. Washington Convention Center).

Previous ACS Catalysis Lectureship Winners

2012 – Alan S. Goldman, Rutgers University – article

2013 – John F. Hartwig, Berkeley – article

2014 – Suljo Linic, University of Michigan – article

2015 – R. Morris Bullock, Daniel DuBois and the Pacific Northwest National Laboratory Hydrogen Catalysis Team – article

2016 – Matthias Beller, University of Rostock, Germany – article


Add a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

1 Comment

Want more stories like this delivered to your inbox?

Sign up for our newsletter to receive a selection of stories related to your favorite topics.