James A. Wells to Receive the ACS Chemical Biology Lectureship Award - ACS Axial | ACS Publications

James A. Wells to Receive the ACS Chemical Biology Lectureship Award

The 2018 ACS Spring National Meeting is fast approaching, which means it is time to mark your calendars for the ACS Chemical Biology Lectureship Award Symposium on Tuesday, March 20th at 9 a.m. in Room 243. This year’s award, co-sponsored by the journal and the ACS Division of Biological Chemistry, will be presented to James A. Wells, who holds the Harry Wm. and Diana V. Hind Distinguished Professorship in Pharmaceutical Sciences at the University of California, San Francisco. As recipient of this lectureship award, Professor Wells joins past winners such as Alanna Schepartz (2010), Stuart Schreiber (2011), Carolyn Bertozzi (2012), Wilfred van der Donk (2013), Peter Dervan (2014), Kevan Shokat (2015), Peter G. Schultz (2016), and Benjamin F. Cravatt (2017).

Professor Wells’ selection as the 2018 Awardee recognizes his groundbreaking research in detecting and attacking cancer surface proteomes with recombinant antibodies. His lab uses both mass spectroscopy-based technologies and a new multiplexed antibody method to systematically understand how cancer cells remodel their surface-omes, then toxify the antibodies, or recruit immune cells to kill these cancer cells.

Professor Wells will deliver the keynote address during this year’s ACS Chemical Biology Lectureship Award Symposium, chaired by Editor-in-Chief Laura L. Kiessling. His address will follow invited speakers, Emily Balskus, Kamil Godula, Bo Li, and Pamela Peralta-Yahya. Below is the schedule for this exciting symposium. See you there!

Details: Tuesday  March 20th, Ernest M. Morial Convention Center, Room 243


9:00 Introductory Remarks: Symposium Chair: Laura L. Kiessling

9:05 Deciphering the human microbiota with chemistry: Emily P. Balskus

 9:35 Chemical editing of the glycocalyx to influence cellular functions: Kamil Godula

 10:05 Mighty chemistry of bacterial small molecules: Bo Li

 10:35 Olfactory receptor-based sensors to accelerate the engineering of chemical-producing microbes: Pamela Peralta-Yahya

 11:00 Introduction of 2018 Awardee, James A. Wells:  Laura L. Kiessling

11:10 Detecting and attacking cancer surface-omes with recombinant antibodies: James A. Wells

12:00 Refreshments provided

Want more stories like this delivered to your inbox?

Sign up for our newsletter to receive a selection of stories related to your favorite topics.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.