Professors Matthew I. Gibson and Jeremiah A. Johnson Win 2018 Biomacromolecules/ Macromolecules Young Investigator Award - ACS Axial | ACS Publications

Professors Matthew I. Gibson and Jeremiah A. Johnson Win 2018 Biomacromolecules/ Macromolecules Young Investigator Award

The ACS journals Biomacromolecules, Macromolecules and ACS Macro Letters in partnership with the Division of Polymer Chemistry are proud to announce the selection of Professors Matthew I. Gibson of the University of Warwick and Jeremiah A. Johnson, of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology as the winners of the 2018 Biomacromolecules/Macromolecules Young Investigator Award. Professors Gibson and Johnson will be honored during an award symposium at the ACS Fall National Meeting, August 19-24, 2018 in Boston, MA.

Register for free e-alerts for these journals to be informed of lectureship details as they become available.

Learn About the 2018 Biomacromolecules / Macromolecules Young Investigator Award Winners

Matthew I. Gibson, University of Warwick

Professor Gibson was selected in recognition of his outstanding contributions in fields of bioinspired materials and polymer chemistry, having successfully translated his basic research findings to industrial partners. Prof. Gibson is acknowledged as having created the field of macromolecular cryoprotectants, which is making a global impact, in addition to his work on glyco-materials and new polymer synthesis.

View selected articles published by Gibson

Ultralow Dispersity Poly(vinyl alcohol) Reveals Significant Dispersity Effects on Ice Recrystallization Inhibition Activity
ACS Macro Lett., 2017, 6 (9), pp 1001–1004
DOI: 10.1021/acsmacrolett.7b00595

Regioregular Alternating Polyampholytes Have Enhanced Biomimetic Ice Recrystallization Activity Compared to Random Copolymers and the Role of Side Chain versus Main
Biomacromolecules, 2017, 18 (1), pp 295–302
DOI: 10.1021/acs.biomac.6b01691

Antifreeze (Glyco)protein Mimetic Behavior of Poly(vinyl alcohol): Detailed Structure Ice Recrystallization Inhibition Activity Study
Biomacromolecules, 2013, 14 (5), pp 1578–1586
DOI: 10.1021/bm400217j

Triggerable Multivalent Glyconanoparticles for Probing Carbohydrate–Carbohydrate Interactions
ACS Macro Lett., 2018, 7 (2), pp 178–183
DOI: 10.1021/acsmacrolett.7b00891

Jeremiah A. Johnson, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Professor Johnson was selected for this honor in recognition of his exceptional contributions in developing methods for polymer synthesis that provide macromolecules with novel functions and new insights into polymer physics. He’s particularly known for accomplishments in quantifying cyclic defects in polymer networks, his methods for photocontrolled living radical polymerization, the synthesis of multivalent bottlebrush and star polymers, and the synthesis of unimolecular polymers.

View selected articles published by Johnson

Visible-Light-Controlled Living Radical Polymerization from a Trithiocarbonate Iniferter Mediated by an Organic Photoredox Catalyst
ACS Macro Lett., 2015, 4 (5), pp 566–569
DOI: 10.1021/acsmacrolett.5b00241

Loops versus Branch Functionality in Model Click Hydrogels
Macromolecules, 2015, 48 (24), pp 8980–8988
DOI: 10.1021/acs.macromol.5b02243

Polymer Structure Dependent Hierarchy in PolyMOC Gels
Macromolecules, 2016, 49 (18), pp 6896–6902
DOI: 10.1021/acs.macromol.6b01607

Counting Secondary Loops Is Required for Accurate Prediction of End-Linked Polymer Network Elasticity
ACS Macro Lett., 2018, 7 (2), pp 244–249
DOI: 10.1021/acsmacrolett.8b00008

Want more stories like this delivered to your inbox?

Sign up for our newsletter to receive a selection of stories related to your favorite topics.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.