2018 Arthur E. Schwarting and Jack L. Beal Awards for Best Papers in the Journal of Natural Products Announced

The Journal of Natural Products recognizes the best papers published during 2017 with a pair of awards. In 2001, the Foundation Board of the American Society of Pharmacognosy (ASP) launched the Arthur E. Schwarting and Jack L. Beal Awards for best papers in the Journal of Natural Products. The awards honor two distinguished former editors of the journal. The Schwarting Award is open to all papers published in the journal within a given year (either in print or electronically). The Beal Award is awarded to younger investigators who are within 12 years of receiving their Ph.D. degree or within 10 years of gaining their first professional appointments, such as Assistant Professor or an equivalent position in industry or government.

A two-tier process was used to determine the winners of the best papers published in the journal in 2017, with Editors Daneel Ferreira, A. Douglas Kinghorn, Cedric J. Pearce, Philip J. Proteau, and Steven M. Swanson nominating two papers each for the Schwarting Award and one each for the Beal Award. ASP President Cedric Pearce then appointed an ad hoc committee consisting of Professors Amy E. Wright (Harbor Branch Oceanographic Institution, Florida Atlantic University) as Chair, along with Chun-Tao Che (University of Illinois at Chicago), and Mark T. Hamann (Medical University of South Carolina), to make the final selections.

2018 Arthur E. Schwarting Award

The 2018 Arthur E. Schwarting Award goes to Hwa-Jin Chung, Won Kyung Kim, Jedo Oh, Me-Riong Kim, Joon-Shik Shin, Jinho Lee, In-Hyuk Ha, and Sang Kook Lee. The corresponding author, Professor Lee is from the College of Pharmacy, Natural Products Research Institute, Seoul National University, Seoul, Korea. Read the award-winning paper:

Anti-Osteoporotic Activity of Harpagoside by Upregulation of the BMP2 and Wnt Signaling Pathways in Osteoblasts and Suppression of Differentiation in Osteoclasts
J. Nat. Prod., 2017, 80 (2), pp 434–442
DOI: 10.1021/acs.jnatprod.6b00964

2018 Jack L. Beal Award

The 2018 Jack L. Beal Award goes to Daniela Reimer and Chambers C. Hughes. The corresponding author, Professor Hughes, represents the Center for Marine Biotechnology and Biomedicine, Scripps Institution of Oceanography, University of California-San Diego, La Jolla, CA. Read the award-winning paper:

Thiol-Based Probe for Electrophilic Natural Products Reveals That Most of the Ammosamides Are Artifacts
J. Nat. Prod., 2017, 80 (1), pp 126–133
DOI: 10.1021/acs.jnatprod.6b00773

The corresponding authors of these papers will be invited to attend the Banquet at the American Society of Pharmacognosy 2018 Annual Meeting (59th. Annual Meeting of the American Society of Pharmacognosy) in Lexington, Kentucky, July 21-25, 2018, to receive a check and a plaque in honor of their achievement. Congratulations to Professors Lee and Hughes and the co-authors!

Add a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Want more stories like this delivered to your inbox?

Sign up for our newsletter to receive a selection of stories related to your favorite topics.