Dr. Laura L. Kiessling, the Founding Editor-in-Chief of ACS Chemical Biology, will receive the 2016 Willard Gibbs Award, one of the most prestigious honors in all of chemistry. The Chicago Section of the American Chemical Society will present her with the award during a ceremony on May 20. Kiessling is a professor at the University […]

Kiessling is a professor at the University of Wisconsin-Madison’s Department of Chemistry, where she has worked since 1991. She is known for her research on elucidating and exploiting the mechanisms of cell surface recognition processes including protein-glycan interactions, as well as her work on multivalency and its role in recognition, signal transduction, and direction of cell fate.

In 2014, she won the Alfred Bader Award in Bioinorganic or Bioorganic Chemistry from the American Chemical Society. She was also awarded an ACS Fellowship in 2010 and a Guggenheim Fellowship in 2008, among many other honors in her long career in chemistry.

The Willard Gibbs Award was created in 1910 and consists of an eighteen-carat gold medal. It is awarded by The Chicago Section of the American Chemical Society. Named for the formulator of the Phase Rule, the award aims “to publicly recognize eminent chemists who, through years of application and devotion, have brought to the world developments that enable everyone to live more comfortably and to understand this world better.”

Read Dr. Laura L. Kiessling’s research and learn more about ACS Chemical Biology.

Want the latest stories delivered to your inbox each month?