Introducing JACS Associate Editors - ACS Axial

Introducing JACS Associate Editors

Beginning January 2021, Professor Erick Carreira will be the next Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of the American Chemical Society (JACS).

Professor Carreira’s compelling vision for the future of JACS includes a commitment to diversity and global representation. This is reflected in the appointment of six new executive editors that was previously announced who, in turn, will be part of the team early on that evaluates manuscript suitability for consideration by JACS.


January 2021 update: Following the end of previous contractual obligations, JACS is pleased to announce the following Associate Editors:

Rahul Banerjee

Associate Professor, Department of Chemical Sciences
Indian Institute of Science Education and Research (IISER) Kolkata, India

Matthew Disney

Professor, Department of Chemistry
The Scripps Research Institute, USA

Rachel O’Reilly

School of Chemistry, Head of School
Professor of Polymer Chemistry, University of Birmingham, UK

Shu-Li You

Director of the State Key Laboratory of Organometallic Chemistry
Shanghai Institute of Organic Chemistry, China

The new JACS editorial team aims to be more diverse and representative of the chemistry community. New appointments have been made in topical areas that have previously been underrepresented in JACS, further supporting Professor Carreira’s vision for a more inclusive journal.

Meet the Associate Editors of JACS

Kara L. Bren

Professor of Chemistry
University of Rochester, USA

Michelle Coote

Georgina Sweet ARC Laureate Fellow
Australian National University, Australia

Lyndon Emsley

Institute of Chemical Sciences and Engineering
Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL), Switzerland

Laura Gagliardi

Richard and Kathy Leventhal Professor of Chemistry and Molecular Engineering,
The University of Chicago, USA

Guy Lloyd-Jones

Forbes Professor of Organic Chemistry
University of Edinburgh, Scotland

E.W. “Bert” Meijer

Distinguished University Professor and Professor of Organic Chemistry
Institute for Complex Molecular Systems / Department of Chemistry and Chemical Engineering
Eindhoven University of Technology, The Netherlands

Chad A. Mirkin

Director of the International Institute for Nanotechnology
George B. Rathmann Professor of Chemistry
Northwestern University, USA

Sarah E. Reisman

Bren Professor of Chemistry
California Institute of Technology, USA

Carol V. Robinson

Dr Lee’s Professor of Physical Chemistry
Department of Chemistry, University of Oxford, U.K.

Franziska Schoenebeck

Professor of Organic Chemistry
RWTH Aachen University, Germany

Hanadi Sleiman

Professor and Canada Research Chair in DNA Nanoscience
Department of Chemistry, McGill University, Canada

Claudia Turro

Dow Professor and Chair, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
The Ohio State University, USA

Suzanne Walker

Professor of Microbiology and Molecular Genetics
Department of Chemistry and Chemical Biology, Harvard University, USA

Li-Jun Wan

Professor, Institute of Chemistry
Chinese Academy of Sciences, China

Tanja Weil

Director Max Planck Institute for Polymer Research, Germany

Omar M. Yaghi

James and Neeltje Tretter Chair Professor of Chemistry
University of California, Berkeley, USA

Peidong Yang

S.K. and Angela Chan Distinguished Chair in Energy
Department of Chemistry, MSE, University of California, Berkeley, USA

Add a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


Want more stories like this delivered to your inbox?

Sign up for our newsletter to receive a selection of stories related to your favorite topics.