Meet the 2020 & 2021 ACS Catalysis Lectureships for the Advancement of Catalytic Science Winners

Rhea Williams
  • 1 min read

abstract digital art in shades of purple and blue

Founded in 2012 by ACS Catalysis and the ACS Division of Catalysis Science and Technology, the annual ACS Catalysis Lectureship for the Advancement of Catalytic Science award recognizes significant contributions within the last seven years by an individual or a team of researchers to the understanding and/or practice of catalysis.

Since 2018, the Lectureship has been awarded annually on a rotating cycle recognizing researchers in three traditional subdisciplines of catalysis:

  • Homogeneous or molecular catalysis, 2020
  • Biocatalysis and enzymology, 2021
  • Heterogeneous catalysis, 2022

I recently sat down with our two most recent award recipients, Professor Stahl and Professor Ward. Read the interviews below.

Nominations for the 2022 ACS Catalysis award will open later this summer, ~August 2021, with a focus placed on heterogeneous catalysis in the upcoming cycle. Nominations will be due in early November 2021. All queries about the award may be emailed to

Past ACS Catalysis Lectureship Winners:

Want the latest stories delivered to your inbox each month?